好饿的毛毛虫 Very Hungry Caterpillar

This week at our Mandarin Motion Song and Story Time we will read 好饿的毛毛虫  (hǎo è de máo mao chóng) ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’.  We have all the food ready to feed our very hungry caterpillar!

This book is great for kids to make so many connections in Mandarin!  It has days of the week, counting, and lots of different measure words to hear!

We can also sing along to these two cool Groovi Pauli songs , salsa to the fruit song, and listen to our bellies 咕噜咕噜叫 (gū lu gū lu jiào) ‘rumble’!

苹果,苹果,苹果 (píng guǒ, píng guǒ, píng guǒ) apple, apple, apple
香蕉,香蕉,香蕉 (xiāng jiāo, xiāng jiāo, xiāng jiāo) banana, banana, banana
葡萄,葡萄,葡萄 (pú táo, pú táo, pú táo) grapes, grapes, grapes
橘子 (jú zi) tangerine

水果,水果,水果 (shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ) fruit, fruit, fruit
营养 (yíng yǎng) nutritious
水果,水果,水果 (shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ) fruit, fruit, fruit
水果 好吃 (shuǐ guǒ hǎo chī) Yummy fruit

草莓,草莓,草莓 (cǎo méi, cǎo méi, cǎo méi) strawberry, strawberry, strawberry
西瓜,西瓜,西瓜 (xī guā, xī guā, xī guā) watermelon, watermelon, watermelon
梨,梨,梨 (lí, lí, lí) pear, pear, pear
柚子 (yòu zi) grapefruit

水果,水果,水果 (shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ) fruit, fruit, fruit
营养 (yíng yǎng) nutritious
水果,水果,水果 (shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ, shuǐ guǒ) fruit, fruit, fruit
水果 好吃 (shuǐ guǒ hǎo chī) Yummy fruit

 What sound is that? 什么声音 shén me shēng yīn
Are you hungry? 你饿吗 nǐ è ma

I’m hungry 我饿了wǒ è le
I want to eat something 想吃东西 xiǎng chī dōng xī
So hungry.

Ah-ya. I’m so hungry. 哎呀。我好饿。āi yā wǒ hǎo è
My stomach is rumbling. 我肚子咕噜咕噜叫。wǒ dù zi gū lū gū lū jiào
I want to eat eat eat eat something. 我要吃吃吃吃东西。wǒ yào chī chī chī chī dōng xī
I want to eat til I’m full. 我要吃到饱。wǒ yào chī dào bǎo

I’m hungry 我饿了wǒ è le
I want to eat something 想吃东西 xiǎng chī dōng xī
So hungry.

See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *